<< Back to shouce.jb51.net

Chapter 12. Using GFS init.d Scripts

This chapter describes GFS init.d scripts and consists of the following sections:

12.1. GFS init.d Scripts Overview

The GFS init.d scripts start GFS services during node startup and stop GFS services during node shutdown. Also, the scripts provide functions for querying the status of GFS services (for example, if a service is running or stopped).

The GFS init.d scripts are stored in the directory /etc/init.d and accept one of the following parameters: start, stop or status. For example, to start the gfs.o module, call the gfs init.d script as follows:

# /etc/init.d/gfs start

As with other init.d scripts, wrappers are available for using the scripts. For example you can use service or serviceconf.

GFS provides the following init.d scripts that are installed automatically when GFS is installed:

The scripts automatically start and stop GFS modules during startup and shutdown of a node. When GFS is installed, the scripts are stored in the /etc/init.d directory. In addition, installation automatically names and places the scripts into directories rc0.d through rc6.d so that the GFS modules will be started and stopped in the correct order.

If you use the scripts manually to start and shut down GFS modules, you must run the scripts in a certain order. For startup, follow this sequence: pool, ccsd, lock_gulmd, and gfs. For shutdown, follow this sequence: gfs, lock_gulmd, ccsd, and pool.

The following example shows running the GFS init.d scripts to start up GFS:

# service pool start
# service ccsd start
# service lock_gulmd start
# service gfs start

The following example shows running the GFS init.d scripts to shut down GFS:

# service gfs stop
# service lock_gulmd stop
# service ccsd stop
# service pool stop